Author Topic: Flipped/Inverted Keys  (Read 4511 times)

Offline Suppo

Flipped/Inverted Keys
« on: Mon, 09 March 2015, 07:20:46 »
Hey all, firstly I'll apologise if this is in the wrong section of the forum, but I'm not sure where else this would be well suited.

When I first saw inverted spacebars, I thought it was a joke, seeing many of the initial commenters mocking it. I myself first handedly tried it myself and thought that it was an instantaneous improvement.

But what about other keys?

Everyone obviously has different/unique typing techniques and have different hand shapes and sizes, as well as their own keyboard layout preferences (feet, no feet, wrist rests ect.), which undoubtedly affect typing speed.

As I'm still learning the Poker II layout (I'm still not comfortable with Calculator and directional keys yet, which to me, is a huge upset when writing reports), and I've decided to invert a few other keys.

Keys I'd initially thought of inverting:
Spacebar
Backspace
Left Ctrl
Right Fn
Caps Lock (which is remapped as an alternative [Fn] key)
Left Shift

Initially extremely awkward, but ended up unflipping the [Left Shift] key, everything else aforementioned remains flipped. This resulted in almost instantaneous, slightly biased, 10FastFingers results. Firstly, when I use this site, I'll [Refresh] the test upon either: 2 simultaneously incorrect words, any 'serious' fumble, loss in momentum or anything that I feel won't net me a 110+ score. Essentially, it'll be 1/10 tests that I'll let submit. With that in mind, there's been a 5 - 6% (115+ and breaking 120 on occasions, NOTE: It's only been in the past 2 weeks that I've managed to hit triple digits more consistently let alone 120+) increase in score with a flipped [Backspace], [Spacebar], [Left Ctrl], [Caps Lock]. This is on a Poker II with Cherry MX Brown Switches.