Author Topic: New member near Philly  (Read 1525 times)

Offline raxander

New member near Philly
« on: Fri, 23 June 2017, 11:04:57 »
Hi All!  I've been suffering from a low-grade chronic keyboard illness for some years, but recently it's flared up and now I'm afraid it's quite debilitating!  Every day I'm researching key profiles, switches, keycap materials, and thinking about the right layout that I want.  Right now I have a Filco TKL with lacquered kobo frame, GMK dolch keycaps, cherry mx brown switches, and I've got the Pexon Filco cable mod on order.

I've ordered the Input Club K-Type with Halo Clears, really looking forward to that board - don't care about the LEDs but the swappable switches is just what I need right now - eager to try lots of switches to see exactly what I like best.

Layout-wise, the 75% seems to make the most sense to me, but I'm just getting started. I might pick up a used 60% to see if I can get used to it.

Anyway, you guys are great!  I've learned a ton from geekhack and reddit posts.  I'm planning to stop by Keycon tomorrow to ogle your keyboards a bit if that's ok!  I'll bring my 8y/o son - he's an expert keycap swapper with a burgeoning interest in keyboards.

Offline stoic-lemon

Re: New member near Philly
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 26 June 2017, 23:57:28 »
Yeah, you've got it bad. There'll be no cure, but we can manage your symptoms. Hope you enjoyed Keycon.

Offline KACHAKEYS

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 27 June 2017, 01:41:52 »
did we meet at Keycon?

Offline raxander

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 27 June 2017, 21:38:35 »