Author Topic: [BUILD] Boardwalk/Ortho layout but its all THT componets - Help wanted!  (Read 1634 times)

Offline iSandRocks

Hello, I'm new here and could use some help. I am 100% self-taught and have no idea what I'm doing.

So I'm making a board from scratch and need someone to look over my work. ---> https://github.com/isandrocks/Causeway_THT

Here is what I have so far.

PCB Layout

Schematic

Key layout

well kinda from scratch I got a lot of help from studying the discipline 65% by coseyfannitutti https://github.com/coseyfannitutti/discipline

I have completed a few other DIY THT Kits by other people such as the discipline v2 65%, Mercutio by Mechwild and the Púca by FFKeebs.
But, this is the first time I am doing something like this.
My buddy's boardwalk keyboard broke and he couldn't get another one. (so this is a "Fine then! I'm Going To Build My Own Keyboard With Blackjack and Hookers" type vibe.)
For this I wanted to go all in, no premade boards and all THT.
I am not an electrical engineer, and most of my other project's I had slapped on an Arduino micro and called it a day. I'm flying by the seat of my pants here.

Some frequently asked question I got.

Why is the USB-C port on its side?
When I was looking at USB-C THT components on Digi-Key I found this one that had its pins on the side and was like "Huh, That's neat." *adds to cart*

When I open the PCB gbr files or look at it in KiCad there is a giant graphic of The Great Wave by Katsushika Hokusai Blocking Everything!
When I was looking at other designer's PCB's I thought that mine was kinda bland, so I added a big SVG to be silk-screened on top of everything. If you're in KiCad, you can turn off the visibility of the F.Silkscreen layer so you can see the rest of the board.

I see there is a Case.step and acrylic.dxf file in there.