Author Topic: SixKeyBoard Firmware Update to Easy AVR  (Read 42183 times)

Offline newton101

SixKeyBoard Firmware Update to Easy AVR
« on: Mon, 19 June 2017, 05:30:31 »
Hi folks,

Im new to this world and have recently purchased a sixkeyboard. After a little back and forth with the team at techkeys via email they said flashing it with easy avr would give me more flexibility on the mac (they have been great so far through the process)

Im at the point now where I dont know how to get it into bootloader mode (the guide ive been following is the mac guide shown here https://github.com/dhowland/EasyAVR)

Im using dfu-programmer and the terminal is showing me this

/usr/local/bin/dfu-programmer atmega16u2 erase
dfu-programmer: no device present.
/usr/local/bin/dfu-programmer atmega16u2 flash /Users/newton/Documents/6kb.hex
/usr/local/bin/dfu-programmer atmega16u2 reset

Can anyone give me guidance to how I can do this or if I am missing a part of the puzzle?

Thanks!
Chris

Offline prkns

• Fourteen
    • Fourteen Keyboards
Re: SixKeyBoard Firmware Update to Easy AVR
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 21 June 2017, 10:13:13 »
I'm on Mac too and I had a couple of similar issues to you. Here's how I sorted mine out. Before you go ahead doing any of this, I'm assuming you've installed DFU-Programmer? If you have, crack on with how i sorted it using Easy AVR and Crossover.

First you want to wipe completely:

Code: [Select]
sudo dfu-programmer atmega16u2 erase --force
Which should give you something like:

Erasing flash...  Success
Checking memory from 0x0 to 0x2FFF...  Empty.

Then you want to create your .hex file. I used EasyAVR via Crossover. You can do it through a Mac "natively" but I have Crossover installed for other software. There is a free trial for Crossover that you could use to setup your initial firmware but to be honest, it's pretty handy to have in this keyboard world as a lot of the tools and software is made for PC (i've found).