Author Topic: RGB under key LEDs, Almost ready to wire. Need Advice!  (Read 2376 times)

Offline Griftrix

RGB under key LEDs, Almost ready to wire. Need Advice!
« on: Sun, 12 February 2017, 15:17:23 »
Hello!

after the awesome advice earlier on layout and parts, I have ordered and obtained most of the things to build the 60% layout I posted in this thread.

I even (finally) found some RGB LEDs that are designed to fit in the switches I have!

I've started experimenting with programming the teensy ++ 2.0, and reading the source code for the QMK firmware, and there are only 2 things I don't have figured out yet.  How do I wire a common cathode charlieplexed LED matrix? and how do I power 2 16x9 LED Drivers from the USB/teensy?

I saw somewhere that you can charlieplex a common cathode RGB setup, but the sketch would be "too complicated for a beginner", and so they didn't explain the wiring.  The good news is, programming is the only skill in this arena where I am not a beginner, and I should be able to handle even very complex timing and logic.  It's the EE wiring stuff I need help with :).

I THINK those LED drivers I linked can do good things, and PMW and stuff, and can repeat signals and even switch between 8 animation "frames" as needed, which could help do some of the charlieplexed lighting I want.  I just need a little bit of extra advice to put it all together.

Thanks!
-Griftrix
« Last Edit: Sun, 12 February 2017, 16:29:06 by Griftrix »

Offline Griftrix

Re: RGB under key LEDs, Almost ready to wire. Need Advice!
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 12 February 2017, 18:30:12 »
Since I only need 62 RGB LEDs, making a 4x4x4 charliplexed cube, and then just repositioning the LEDs SHOULD work.
https://aglick.com/charliecube.html

It will be a rats nest under the hood.  I'll have to be VERY careful with soldering and insulation (new skills to me).

-Griftrix

Offline cribbit

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 14 February 2017, 19:25:52 »