Author Topic: Searching for advice: Layout for ErgoDox  (Read 5745 times)

Offline SoerenTheElk

Searching for advice: Layout for ErgoDox
« on: Sat, 23 July 2016, 04:04:17 »
Hello,

my ErgoDox will be arriving soon and I decided to use the opportunity and switch to a more ergonomic keyboard layout.
But for me it is kinda hard to get through the forest of different layouts.

I'm a student (computer science) from Germany that works part time as a developer (java, python) and will continue so.
So I use a lot of different script languages and LaTEX, emacs in evilmode and VIM keybindings wherever I can. Also Linux and awesome wm (tiling window manager).

All in all, a lot of keybindings. I know I have to rebind a lot of them to buttons on the main row, but that's okay for me.
I would just prefer to do it all at once, since I have a few weeks of spare time coming and that would be the perfect opportunity.

So far I have:
- Colmak
- Dvorak
- Neo
- AdNW (looks promising, but I cant find anything for special characters like []{};/\, etc)
- Norman (good marketing, haven't heard much about it, but looks good)

So, I'm up for any advices! :-)

Thanks for reading!

Offline LuX

• 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️
Re: Searching for advice: Layout for ErgoDox
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 23 July 2016, 05:27:48 »