Author Topic: Keycap designs: who authorizes whom? [e.g. One Piece, Star War franchise, etc]  (Read 2801 times)

Offline menuhin

[Disclaimer: I'm a newbie in this expensive hobby, but I work on ideas and I respect original ideas. In my area and similar fields, when innovative ideas are copied and publicized first then the original discoverer / inventor / author / screenwriter / designer will be doomed. There are however scenarios where the original worker keeps his work incomplete half-way, and someone may come up to finish the related work.]

On my way of making my keyboards (or future boards) look sick and enviable, I saw quite a few super tempting and gorgeous key cap designs, to list a few, artisan or not, metal or resin or whatever material:
- Iron man (Marvel) by a few makers
- Darth Vader (Star War franchise) by the older very famous maker, and the newer metal cap makers and more
- Captain America (Marvel) by a few makers
- Skeletor (Mattel) by the older very famous maker and a few newmakers (e.g. Google image "skeletor keycaps")
- One Piece e.g. Boa Hancock (Japanese manga)
- Neon Genesis Evangelion (Japanese manga)
- Bleach (Japanese manga)

And many many robot-head key caps actually look a lot like designs from Transformer to me, with only a few exceptions, e.g. 'Raven' by HKP.
(There are of course very original key cap designers, such as KeyCollectiv's food, and, fruit, and cat designs, and the simple graphics of Keypop, and those who created original stories for their key cap designs)

The question is, who authorizes one to create Star War key cap or some others? These key caps will sell because of the original Star War stories and movies. Of course, if the makers are hiding somewhere far away from the law enforcement agencies for these franchises, plus if they are producing only a small amount of products then the franchises probably just keep silent.