geekhack Projects > Making Stuff Together!

Black Diamond 75

(1/7) > >>

DryStudio:
Hello, I'm a designer who's passionate about supercars and mechanical keyboards. I also enjoy playing games such as Forza Motorsport, Valorant and Rainbow Six.

I want to make something different, so I spent my free time designing a new keyboard together with FARSOUL. We call this keyboard Black Diamond 75, and it takes its inspiration from the modified all-carbon Lamborghini Aventador - the MANSORY Carbonado (also known as the "Black Diamond"). Our goal is to bring its sleek, angular-line design language into this keyboard.

Carbon fiber cannot be missing from true supercars. Therefore, I want to build Black Diamond 75 from carbon fiber to recreate some of that supercar flair. I went to a creator space and made several samples to see how we could integrate carbon fiber into our keyboard design.

Being a gamer myself, I want to implement 2.4G support, so that the latency is not compromised when I'm using the keyboard wirelessly. I found out that the latest 2.4G modules have a latency that can go as low as 1ms, so I want to give this dongle a try to see how well it works.

I'm stuck in a dilemma trying to figure out the appropriate typing experience. As a mechanical keyboard enthusiast, I want it to be thocky with enough flex, but that doesn't go too well with gaming. For gaming, I just need switches with a short actuation distance, such as Cherry MX Speed Silver or Kailh Speed Silver Gaming for quicker reaction speed. Flex won't help here at all. Seems like I have to make a choice between those two. I'm playing around with different mounting methods to see what I can do to make a balanced keyboard that has a good typing feel and typing profile, but can also perform well while gaming.

I will keep updating this thread as we make progress with this board. I also made a Discord server where I will post updates: https://discord.gg/qmjvMhyDKZ

gamebynight: