Author Topic: RSI and switching to hunt and pecking  (Read 2646 times)

Offline glitchathon

RSI and switching to hunt and pecking
« on: Sat, 03 March 2012, 01:34:57 »
Hi, I have been battling RSI for a few years now. What started as signs of cubital tunnel has become so complex that several occupational therapists, orthopedists, and neurologists are still puzzled. Basically my right hand ring and pinky is very hard to use.

I am currently using the Kinesis Advantage and whereas it is the best keyboard I have used, I realized that I have one major problem with it. I am an avid touchtyper and typed over 100wpm since I was 12 and for that, the Kinesis is excellent. But with my RSI, I find a lot of relief by switching to hunt and pecking for a portion of the day. The Kinesis is obvious unsuitable for that.

So as I am ready to bring my old keyboard (crappy rubber dome) back out for occasional hunt and peck use, I am wondering if there is an even better keyboard for this purpose. Perhaps this BigKeys one?
http://www.fentek-ind.com/bigkey.htm

Has anyone tried anything like that? Any other advice from those that choose to hunt-and-peck to ease their RSI?
Thanks!

Offline elef

« Reply #1 on: Sat, 03 March 2012, 05:56:23 »
As a touch typer (typist?), relapsing into hunt&peck, you won't need giant legends. That's how I used to type for years before I learned to touch type and I hardly used the legends. If you don't mind the price, get a mechanical keyboard for this purpose.

Offline glitchathon

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 03 March 2012, 10:38:30 »
Hi elef,