Author Topic: HPE87 / with pictures  (Read 8171 times)

Offline Bencze

HPE87 / with pictures
« on: Fri, 26 April 2013, 17:56:23 »
This is a review of my brand new HPE87.
Bare in mind that I'm no expert, not very familiar with different technologies and terms yet, but perhaps this will be of some use for someone that is even remotely interested in this keyboard. I made the photos with my SGS3 and didn't try too much, sorry for the bad lightning and off focus. I am not a native english speaker so there will be some mistakes, if they bother you feel free to point them out. The post reflects my subjective opinion.

As far as I gathered HPE is a Chinese manufacturer who makes keyboards that are, according to various sources, pretty much like chinese version of Filco keyboards.

This keyboard is available in white or black, with blue, brown, black and red cherry MX switches. I bought the white version with brown switches.

I got it from Qtan who was helpful and very good in communication by the way. The keyboard cost 67$, shipping was 22$ to Hungary (that's Europe for you who mix up Chechnya with Czech Republic  ;) ).

FedEx brought it to my workplace.

The packaging is kind of thin though, would have preferred a triple bubble layer but I guess this is what cheap shipping means, 22$ is very good price for this kind of item shipping...

Not too bad of a logo for a keyboard that is cheap considering what it is supposed to do. :)

I suppose customs people were really curious what is inside this big package considering the label said 25$. They must have been satisfied with what they seen since they didn't contact me to present invoices and pay for import (under 30 euro or so we don't have to).

And here it was!
The case looks OK, no cheap feeling to it.
Most importantly: it was straight. I hate boards that aren't and you need to try bending them back, or put something under one of the feet. It doesn't really bend either, very solid feeling. I like it.