Author Topic: Model M owner from NZ  (Read 954 times)

Offline cdc

Model M owner from NZ
« on: Wed, 06 May 2015, 00:47:55 »
Hi Everyone,

I'm a software engineer from New Zealand.
I own 3 Model M's. My main keyboard (which I use daily at work) is a 1988 Model M 1391401. It is a generation-1 model (with the vertical stabiliser bars) and has a thick black detatchable spiral cable with an AT plug end.
My other two Model M's are blue-label 1994's (82G2383 not 1391401).

I'm missing a few keys - A left-arrow, a left shift, a print-screen, a number-pad dot/Del, and a Ctrl. But I do have an extra Alt (which is on the missing Ctrl).

I'm such a keyboard geek that I took cake to work to share around for afternoon tea when my work keyboard turned 26 last year (August 10).

Cheers,
Carl.
« Last Edit: Wed, 06 May 2015, 14:40:58 by cdc »

Offline wholphin

Re: Model M owner from NZ
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 06 May 2015, 04:02:28 »
Hey mate,

Welcome to the forum! I too am from New Zealand, and own Model M keyboards. I have a couple of grey label 1391401s from 1990 (as per my sig). Both are bolt modded.

I've ordered a few spare keys from ClickyKeyboards.com for my latest Model M, but I found the shipping horrendously expensive :(.

I've not quite got to the point where I take cake in on my keyboard's birthday, but I can completely understand that one!

Cheers,
Alex
« Last Edit: Wed, 06 May 2015, 04:07:32 by wholphin »
Ducky Shine 3 TKL (Browns) | Ducky Shine 3 Tuhaojin (Browns) | Poker II (Blues) | Model M, bolt modded x2 (03 Jan '90, 18 Jan '90) | Leopold FC660M (Ergo Clears) w/ aluminium case | HHKB Pro 2 | Model M SSK (04 Dec '91) w/ PhosphorGlow's replacement controller | Leopold FC660C | Realforce 104U | Realforce 23UB

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: Model M owner from NZ
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 12 May 2015, 05:39:18 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

There's a lot of love for the Model M at the moment.  I have four :)