Author Topic: KBDfans Ergodone  (Read 12286 times)

Offline Targa-TV

KBDfans Ergodone
« on: Wed, 17 May 2017, 12:16:32 »
Holy hell.

https://goo.gl/1dmRNf

Also, I have some questions
Ergodone? lol
What on earth are the leds doing up there? Won't they be covered by the case?
Pro Micro instead of Teensy, will there be any issues at firmware level?
They use the MCP23017-E/SP instead of the 18. I wondered about that too since the 18 is harder to find but it seems like the people who asked about it in DT reddit and here were mostly ignored. Is there any chance that the 17 will cause any issues?

NB: I'm not a programmer.
« Last Edit: Wed, 17 May 2017, 16:46:43 by Targa-TV »
Filco MJ2 Black - MX Red | VA88M - MX Brown | Cherry G80-3000 -
  MX Blue | Cherry G80-3000 - MX Black | XD75re - MX Silent Red

[image]http://i.imgur.com/our8YUc.png[/image]

Offline pr0ximity

| Flickr | KMAC 1.2 | Koala | GSKT-00-Z | GSKT-00-AEK | GON NerD60 | Jane V2 CE | Whale | J80S | Ibis | Pro2 | Pro1 | 356mini | 356CL DGE | G80-5000 HAMDE | IBM 1390120 | IBM F AT | IBM F122 | IBM 3101 | Zenith Z-150

Offline Targa-TV

Re: KBDfans Ergodone
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 17 May 2017, 13:14:38 »
I thought it was brand new and didn't bother to look for the tags. Thanks.  :thumb:

I'll wait for more community feedbacks. I'm in no rush.

Offline need

« Reply #3 on: Wed, 17 May 2017, 14:32:03 »
I have these myself, and they work wonderfully. To programme it, design your layout with keyboard layout editor and copy the raw data to the TKG keymapping GUI. It's pretty intuitive. The 3 LEDS do the same as the LEDS on normal keyboards, indicating whether caps lock is on or not etc. If you use clear acrylic for the case, lights will show through.

Another note - these are aimed to be an improved version of the original ergodox. Namely, the controller is on the left side rather than right like the original ergodox. So you can use the left hand on its own while gaming, which saves you some desk space