Author Topic: Nkey1 - GH60 keyboard aluminium case - original project  (Read 6302 times)

Offline NUDEcnc

• * Vendor
    • My YouTube channel
Nkey1 - GH60 keyboard aluminium case - original project
« on: Sat, 31 December 2016, 10:57:21 »
Hi, guys, I would like to introduce myself and my aspirations! 

My name is Arek, I’m an ex-aerospace engineer with a fairly wide range of experience having worked for several high profile UK engineering firms, on jobs ranging from the automotive to the oil industry.
I have my own youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/NUDEcnc

My ethos is to build, from the ground up, a brand synonymous with quality. 
I originally joined Geekhack back in 2014 to get access to the wealth of knowledge and opinion that we share here. 
Several projects (some of which you may have seen) later, and thanks to our great moderation team I have just been given a ‘Vendor’ status.

Some projects I was involved on this forum:

https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=71985.0
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=65905.0
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=78551.0 - first version only  ;)

I’ve been working on this project for a while and am now looking to canvass the opinion of enthusiasts and experts like yourselves!
So, I’m happy to introduce to you, the most recent and elegant evolution of my aluminium 60% (Poker II, GH60) keyboard CASE.

Ideas behind the project:
1. Case MUST fit standard GH60 / Pocker II plate:

2. Most cases have “sharp” shapes and straight lines. I wanted to create a keyboard that would break with this trend and implement smooth transitions, soft edges for both visual effects and comfort of use,

3. Low profile – I wanted to make it as low as possible

4. Main case chassis as one block

4. Case chassis is mounted to key plate (not PCB) for minimal key flexion
https://youtu.be/rNwgkppqd4E

5. I have used only high-quality materials like aluminium and carbon fibre, stainless steel

6. Stepless tilt angle adjustment