Author Topic: Hello Geekhack!  (Read 1759 times)

Offline billputer

• hi
Hello Geekhack!
« on: Wed, 04 March 2015, 18:23:14 »
Hello Geekhack, I'm billputer.

I'm new to the world of mechanical keyboards. I've always used the Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboards, but I've been hearing good things about mechanical switches for a long time. I kept seeing posts like this, so eventually I decided to join the club. I did a lot of research here and elsewhere, and came up with the Coolermaster Storm Quickfire Rapid-i (say that ten times fast) with Cherry MX-Browns. I wanted a solid TKL keyboard with Browns, and the shiny backlighting appealed to me. I'll admit this video where someone hacked this keyboard  to play snake may have lured me in.

I've had my Quickfire Rapid-i since Christmas, and have been loving it. I've added some o-rings to dampen things a bit, and I'm looking forward to getting some custom key-caps to personalize it. I've been lusting after the Penumbra SA keycaps. They're just so goddamn beautiful.
More

I'm happy with the Rapid-i, but in the long run I'd like something more ergonomic. I'm a programmer, I spend hours and hours typing, so ergonomics are a big deal. I'm about 90% sure my next step is to build my own ErgoDox. I've been waiting around for MassDrop to do another ErgoDox deal, but I don't know if I can wait. I'll probably order all the parts individually and make my own.

Once I do my ErgoDox, who knows what's next? An Atreus? A completely custom ergo board? We'll find out.
CM Storm QFR-i | Matias Ergo Pro (pre-ordered) | M$FT Natural Ergonomic 4000

Offline LXXXIX

• Just remember all caps when you spell the man name
E
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 04 March 2015, 19:08:46 »
Welcome! I've been longing for the Penumbra set too. Maybe ctrlalt.io might do another round?  :cool:

If you don't really care for keycaps with an ergo there is always the ;

Kenesis Advantage with MX Browns http://www.kinesis-ergo.com/shop/advantage-for-pc-mac/

or