Author Topic: Suggestions for budget mechanical keyboard?  (Read 28226 times)

Offline Nimz

Suggestions for budget mechanical keyboard?
« on: Sun, 17 October 2010, 00:27:18 »
Can you guys please tell me what mechanical keyboards at this time are considered to be the best bang for the buck. I am looking for a nice mechanical keyboard for gaming that will last me a good amount of time. I am not looking for anything amazing, just decent build quality and good key precision. Figured I would ask you guys since you know what you're talking about, and I didn't want to end up with something that falls apart in a week. :<

So far, I've found the ione scorpius m10, but have read that the quality is hit or miss? Another one I saw that I liked is the Adesso mkb-125b for ~$55 on bhphotovideo. The fact that it's compact only cuts down on the right side of the keyboard right? It doesn't effect the actual lettering, correct?

Thanks for any help guys, I'm a noob.
« Last Edit: Sun, 17 October 2010, 00:49:02 by Nimz »
1a2a3a

Offline wellington1869

« Reply #1 on: Sun, 17 October 2010, 00:55:14 »
The adesso mkb-125b looks really interesting (should not affect basic lettering, you can see a closeup of the keyboard layout and decide for yourself of course). It has blue cherries, and claims N-key, and is "compact".  All of which should make it quite good for gaming (cue Deck fans). Good price point too.

specs from adesso site:
http://www.adesso.com/en/home/keyboards/mechanical-keyboard/306-mkb-125b.html

bhphotovideo page on it:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/696849-REG/Adesso_MKB_125B_Compact_Mechanical_Keyboard.html#specifications.

At $55 its a screaming blue cherry deal, by the way. Does not get much cheaper than $55-60 range (unless you happen to have a drunken indian cousin).

As for quality, at this range it will always be hit or miss - but you know what? $130 blue cherry boards are - guess what - hit or miss too.  I can give you links if you doubt that.