Author Topic: [IC] TKLittle  (Read 3234 times)

Offline Beryllium74

[IC] TKLittle
« on: Sat, 29 April 2023, 07:14:14 »
TKLittle [IC]

FORM

INTRO
Greetings to all keyboard enthusiasts out there! I'm excited to share with you today the TKLittle, a project that I have been working on for the last six months.
 Starting as a simple hardwired keyboard in a 3D-printed case, the TKLittle has gradually become more and more refined to the point that
I'm proud to say that it has reached a level of quality that I believe would be appreciated by others in the community.
However, before investing more time and effort into this project, I need to ensure that there is enough interest to justify it, so here is the IC.

LAYOUT
The TKLittle's layout is a unique take on the popular TKL layout but in a more compact size. The name itself is a playful nod to this concept.
 However, my focus was on creating a layout that was not only visually appealing but also functional.
After using it for a couple of weeks, I am pleased with how it has turned out. As you can see in the pic above, I have configured mine in the "HHKBish" style,
but I wanted to offer as many layout options as possible while maintaining the "little layout" theme.
The base layout is a common 40%, but it includes the additional features of a 65% layout such as the navigation cluster and arrow keys, all within a similar size.
While the TKLittle's layout may be seen more as a novelty than a practical alternative to common layouts, it remains highly usable.

CASE AND DESIGN
The current prototype features a 4-layer acrylic stack case, but I am also exploring the option of an FR4 case to keep costs as low as possible.
My goal is to offer both case options, but this will depend on the vendors I ultimately work with. The TKLittle uses a simple top-mount that delivers a solid typing experience without being overly stiff.