geekhack Projects > Making Stuff Together!

General feedback on 3D printed Preonic case design

(1/2) > >>

golfiros:
Hello y'all!

I'm just getting into the world of custom keyboards, and have decided to jump right in and do a 3D printed hand wired build. I'm not sure about the etiquette of attachments here, so I'm just including the full design (in a blender file for now) as an attachment. It's basically a Preonic, but I have some questions about the design.

1) I really wanted a bezel around the keys, and the solution I came up with is the following: I'll print out a plate for the switches, and a wall. I'll later superglue the plate to the wall so they become one piece. Is this a bad idea?

2) Is a 1.5mm plate with 100% infill sturdy enough as a switch plate? Does it actually need reinforment? I wonder because the plate is going to be subject to way stricter tolerances than the rest of the board, and therefore printing it with reinforcements would be pricier

3) Are 3mm thick walls sturdy enough for the rest of the build? Too strong, and I can save with thinner ones?

4) I'm fixing the backplate by supergluing M2 nuts at the bottom of the walls, and then screwing in the plate from the other side. Should I be woried about this not being enough to hold the back plate in?

With respect to all of those questions, the idea is to have all prints done in PLA. I can't print them myself because they are too large for my tiny hobbyist printer, so I'd rather have something that's going to be almost fully functional on the first or second iteration.

Thanks everyone for taking a look,

GG

Leslieann:
1. I can't see the design, but, glueing depends on the plastic. PETG doesn't glue well, PLA does. Important in a moment.