Author Topic: Your Single, Most Valued, Keyboard Hack  (Read 4673 times)

Offline Questengine

• Heroglyphix Nonogram Logic Puzzles
Your Single, Most Valued, Keyboard Hack
« on: Mon, 19 December 2016, 10:47:43 »
When I got an Ergodox and got into TMK a few months ago I pretty quickly make custom keys for Copy and Paste. One key each, unmodified.  How big a deal can that be really?  It's Awesome!!  I miss this functionality on any keyboard that isn't my main, and I wonder why it's not a feature on more keyboards.  Maybe it's because I'm a programmer but I use copy and paste dozens of times every day.  How often do folks use the dedicated "email", "web" or even "media" keys?.  If you mess with the media keys that much then they're probably distracting you from your work.  Copy and Paste ARE your work!

So what's the one shortcut, hack or customization to your favorite keyboard that you wouldn't want to live without?

Offline Phenix

Re: Your Single, Most Valued, Keyboard Hack
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 19 December 2016, 11:23:46 »
definitly my AHK scripts, which do freaking much for me (e.g. multi-layered media keys)

and capslock=backspace <3
Winter is coming.

Offline SpAmRaY

• NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • because reasons.......
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 19 December 2016, 11:31:32 »
Having a rubber mat underneath the keyboard.

Offline kawasaki161

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 19 December 2016, 11:32:37 »
Or a cloth Mousepad.

Offline Questengine

« Reply #4 on: Mon, 19 December 2016, 12:05:26 »
definitly my AHK scripts, which do freaking much for me (e.g. multi-layered media keys)

and capslock=backspace <3

I use a lot of AHK as well. I wonder why that's not more of a topic here?  I'm pretty happy with the natural backspace so I us AHK's ampersand  with the CapsLock to make it like another modifier and give me a whole other layer on my MS Natural 4K at work.  Don't even have a capslock on my TMK Ergo.. not on the primary layer anyway.

Offline 9fiftyfive_

• My website