Author Topic: Dvorak vs colemak  (Read 9261 times)

Offline BMF96

Dvorak vs colemak
« on: Mon, 13 May 2013, 13:53:35 »
I don't type a lot. Most of my typing is for school and recreation. I have always poked the keys and sometimes have to look. I am not a programmer. I do use my computer a lot for gaming. I have been researching a lot and there clearly isn't a better layout.

I don't care which takes longer or is easier to learn, I'm mostly interested in the end result. It also doesn't matter to me that any other computer I use will be QWERTY. I think I could get over the CTRL Z, X, C, V placements on dvorak by just remapping it to the function keys. I am right handed, but I try to do things with my left hand a lot, so I don't want it to prefer the right hand. I could possibly use the mouse left handed if that would be better.

Lastly, will this affect gaming? I don't mind remapping game controls because I usually change them a bit anyway. In Dvorak, the "W" would be a "," and I heard that some games don't allow that, and I don't want to use the arrow keys.

Offline davkol

•  Post Editing Timeout
Re: Dvorak vs colemak
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 13 May 2013, 14:44:25 »
It depends whether you prefer rolls (Colemak), or hand alternation (Dvorak). It's as simple as that. Other differences are minor (except that Dvorak is still more common, and transition to Colemak might be easier thanks to Tarmak).

I recommend to keep QWERTY skills for some occasions and possibly gaming.

BTW welcome to wallet^Wgeekhack.

Offline esoomenona

• Gnillort?
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 13 May 2013, 14:48:03 »
It depends whether you prefer rolls (Colemak), or hand alternation (Dvorak). It's as simple as that. Other differences are minor (except that Dvorak is still more common, and transition to Colemak might be easier thanks to Tarmak).

Welcome to geekhack!

Offline BMF96

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 13 May 2013, 15:01:28 »
Thanks for the reply and the welcome!