Author Topic: Let me know what you think of this brutal "Karate Kid" approach to learn TTyping  (Read 4512 times)

Offline fateswarm

Those of you that are older might remember Miyagi from Karate Kid putting the kid doing repetitive, seemingly menial jobs in order to improve (e.g. mopping repeatedly the same spot for hours).

I thought, if a key is mashed with the right finger the finger might get used to it better. :))

Now don't get it wrong, I also support all the other common  :cool: methods and I follow them but I think that extra bit might help a bit.

My current level is only up to 30WPM and I still haven't escaped the old habits yet. Basically that's the only big problem:

My background is 75WPM if I use only my index fingers. You can imagine my muscle memory is extremely hard to redesign at that high (and wrong) skill level.

e.g. I now struggle with hitting 'c' with the flipping-finger and not the left index finger etc. Mashing them on problematic areas with the right finger seems to help.

oof:P that was tiring.
« Last Edit: Mon, 27 May 2013, 09:52:52 by fateswarm »

Offline fateswarm

I now hit c more easily with the right finger and the brutality method seems to have helped.

But I'm experiencing tons of brutality with the numbers, symbols and control keys area.

I may mash them as well but they are too many  :))

Offline ksm123

Mashing the keys?

You're doing it wrong!!!

Typing is not about strength but about precision. You don't want to learn how to smash a switch, but how to press it quickly and precisely.
Do not smash the keys, do the opposite, strive for striking a key just hard enough to actuate the switch but light enough not to bottom it out.

Mashing the keys is very bad for your finger joints. Don't do it.

Typing is not about hitting the right key, but about doing it over and over in combination with other keys.