Author Topic: Looking for my first ergonomic keyboard  (Read 4964 times)

Offline flc

Looking for my first ergonomic keyboard
« on: Wed, 26 June 2013, 23:04:18 »
I'm a computer programmer who has always used whatever keyboard was available and I am now looking for an my first ergonomic keyboard.

Here is what I am looking for in order of importance...
1. split
2. able to tent it
3. thumb cluster
4. programmable
5. matrix key layout

I've been considering the ErgoDox but the mechanical keys, which don't seem add much ergonomic value, make it a bit more expensive than the rubber membrane type.

Thank you in advance for your input.

Offline kurplop

• THE HERO WE DON'T DESERVE
Re: Looking for my first ergonomic keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 27 June 2013, 00:06:02 »
Here are most of your options
1. Get the ErgoDox- $250 w/keycaps  It has everything you want. You will have to assemble it or hire someone to and it may lose some proficiency on a std. keyboard but probably is your best choice.
2. Freestyle or Goldtouch- $100  No programability, membrane switches, staggered layout, no thumb cluster but two halves are tent-able, the Freestyle is separable to 20"and both can be skewed.
3. Truly Ergonomic- $250  Good build, some splitting, matrix layout. But no tenting some minor firmware issues and the worst communications to customers I have ever seen.
4. Kinesis Advantage- $280 Many people here love these. Programable, one piece split, matrix, thumb clusters and contoured. I've never used one but I would consider it.
5. Maltron-  Similar to Advantage but more expensive. I don't think they are programable but have other features.
6. Microsoft ergo 4000- $40 Split one piece design, slight tent, better hand positioning than conventional board.

None of these are bad choices depending on your needs and budget.

Other thoughts- 
While the staggered layout is a vestigial remnant from mechanical typewriters, I think the matrix is an improvement but not essential.