Author Topic: First ergonomic keyboard  (Read 9919 times)

Offline RandomUser145

First ergonomic keyboard
« on: Sat, 15 August 2020, 06:25:56 »
Hi,
I'm looking for advice about my first ergonomic keyboard. I have been a full time software developer for over a year now. I have been looking for a new keyboard in general, but I'm interested in getting a ergonomic keyboard.
First thing: I'm little bit afraid to get a mechanical keyboard, because I would like to use it in office and I don't want it to be too loud. I have not ever use any mechanical keyboard before, so I really don't know how is the experience.
Second thing: I'm thinking to get one of these split keyboards. I understand, that there is a learning curve, but I'm afraid I won't be able to get used to it at all.
Now let's say, I would decide to get one. Which one would you recommend for budget around 100? (Euros) I was looking in my local stores and I could find these:
- Kinesis Freestyle2 - non-mechanical, in case I could get use to the split, I could just 'unsplit' it
- ErgoDelta Split - non-mechanical (I think), same as Kinesis, I could 'unsplit' it; it seems to come with vertical alignment options out of the box (I think you have to buy extra for Kinesis)
- Penclic Professional MK1 - this one is also listed as 'ergonomic', but this one is mechanical and it's not split

If possible, I would like to avoid numpad. Are there any reasonable options for my budget? Also, could you maybe describe the experience with split keyboards?

Thank you.

Offline Findecanor

Re: First ergonomic keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 15 August 2020, 07:45:15 »
ErgoDelta Split looks like an updated variation of an old Fujitsu-Siemens keyboard also known as "Kinesis Maxim". The old one did not have good key feel. Did you have a chance to try this one out?