Author Topic: KBT Pure with MX Whites  (Read 9310 times)

Offline CPTBadAss

• Woke up like this
    • Tactile Zine
KBT Pure with MX Whites
« on: Thu, 04 July 2013, 16:06:32 »

Iteration 1: Stock Poker with a plastic case

Iteration 2: Pure CNC case

With the coming of the GH60, Poker 2, Pure Pro, Ducky Mini, and the overall landslide interest in 60% boards, I thought I would put out some of my thoughts on the Pure. I know that I’m always advocating for people to get the GH60, but other options are always nice. This review will be about the KBT Pure with purple/pink LEDs and MX Whites. The Pure was my first 60% board and I fell in love with the form factor and stock MX White switches. I have written some of my thoughts on MX Whites here but since I now own this board and have been using it as a daily driver, I thought I’d document a more in depth opinion on this board and the switches.

I have had this keyboard for four months now and I’ve gone through two iterations of the boards. The first was stock; the Pure was unaltered and had the stock keyboard case. Second iteration was swapping out the stock Pure case for a Pure CNC case.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Aesthetics
It’s got a flat black case with no flip out feet. I actually never use the flip out feet on any keyboard because the angle annoys me so this works fine for me. It’s a tray so there are standoffs with corresponding holes in the PCB so that the screws will hold the PCB into the case.

Top of the stock Pure tray

Bottom of the stock Pure tray

Close up of the standoffs in the top of the tray with the screws

Close up the dip switch cutout and rubber feet

The fully backlit board is awesome. I love the color of the LEDs on it when they’re all on.  On the box, it says that the board has purple LEDs but they look magenta/pink to me. Regardless, they match my Valentine’s set so well.

Backlighting on the Pure, lighting is from the light above my table