Author Topic: Using WD-40 to lube keycaps and costar stabilizers, good or bad?  (Read 14609 times)

Offline eujin1994

Using WD-40 to lube keycaps and costar stabilizers, good or bad?
« on: Mon, 24 February 2014, 23:56:45 »
So I found one of these in my dark storage room. Is it safe to use them to lube on my costar stabilizers?

Offline JPG

• Model F is my new passion!
Re: Using WD-40 to lube keycaps and costar stabilizers, good or bad?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 25 February 2014, 00:02:23 »
I am no expert, but I am 99.99% sure it's bad.

ptfe seems to be the best thing to use to lube and is totally inert (that's what mkawa says and I wont challenge him!). You can buy this lube from techkeys (http://techkeys.us/collections/accessories)

And you don't lube keycaps (unless you have strange objectives). if you want to lube something, you can lube the stabilizers and the sliders. There's guides to do so somewhere in here.
IBM F122, IBM XT F X2, IBM AT F (all Soarer converted), Filco Camo TKL Browns

Offline strafe

• Strafe's Blog
« Last Edit: Wed, 26 February 2014, 04:01:02 by strafe »
Freebird WKL (Blacks Clear-Tops), iKBC F-104 (Blacks) and more!

Offline jacobolus

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 25 February 2014, 02:49:32 »
Your topic asks about lubing “keycaps”. Do you mean keyswitches maybe? Why would you want to lube keycaps?

Offline eujin1994

« Reply #4 on: Tue, 25 February 2014, 03:34:29 »
Your topic asks about lubing “keycaps”. Do you mean keyswitches maybe? Why would you want to lube keycaps?

Sorry I'm in a rush earlier to go to work, I mean lubing internal keyswithes.

Offline TheSoulhunter

• Thorpelicious!
« Reply #5 on: Tue, 25 February 2014, 03:48:04 »
Bad idea, way to runny and creeping...
You want to use something "sticky" like most PTFE based lubes.

Offline Zaskar

« Reply #6 on: Tue, 25 February 2014, 07:15:43 »