Author Topic: Switch Longevity Comparison  (Read 1648 times)

Offline zegonix

Switch Longevity Comparison
« on: Sun, 04 February 2024, 11:44:48 »
I'm quite new to the custom keyboard hobby and have only just two years of experience. Lately I noticed misses and bouncing on several switches I used for about half a year. For example I built my Mode Envoy with Haimu x Geon White Tactiles. That was in August 2023 and already I have bad switches. I noticed similar problems with other switches and have friends who complain about the same.

A little internet research on longevity of different manufacturers switches yielded absolutely no results. Has anyone done some research on this topic or a few years of experience with various switch manufacturers which could be documented here?
I have a set of Gazzew Boba U4's that show no problems after more than half a year of use and I have a set of Mode Anthracites that have about the same amout of use and show no problems so far. But I do expect switches to live 2 years at the very least.

Greetings, zegonix

« Last Edit: Sun, 04 February 2024, 11:48:04 by zegonix »

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: Switch Longevity Comparison
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 04 February 2024, 14:54:41 »
Longevity is tough because how they were soldered or inserted can cause a dramatic change in lifespan.
Matias switches are a perfect example of this, the pins are not well secured in the housing and how they get soldered can cause all sorts of issues, as such Matias keyboards are pretty good, but others using the same switches are extremely inconsistent. Most off-brand switches are made by Gateron so most will have similar longevity.

As for evaluating them,