Author Topic: Keycap modding help  (Read 2355 times)

Offline jman0

Keycap modding help
« on: Thu, 19 July 2018, 03:18:04 »
Hi.

I recently purchased my first mechanical keyboard, a cheap MechanicalEagle z-77, bought from Amazon. The keyboard is nice and working perfectly, but now I'd like to mod it, so I can get a US International layout.

This is the keayboard: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DBVH16U

I'm from Spain, but I don't want to use the Spanish layout, since it contains a dedicated key, for the "<" and ">" symbols, that doesn't exist on English keyboards. I'm a web developer and use them extensively, so I prefer using the US International layout, which allows me to type any of the Spanish characters (accents and others) and still have "<" and ">" at hand.

I'm already using the US International layout on Windows, but the keyboard is just plain US English, so I wanted it to also show the extended international character set that you get with the right alt key. This is what I've researched so far:

1) 4keyboard. This is a website I have already used before, but they don't have what I need. They have transparent stickers for the US International layout, with only the extended characters, but it looks like they are intented for keyboards which have the symbol-only keys printed on the left side, but my keyboard has them printed on the top part. Unless I can find transparent stickers with the extended symbols on the bottom, this is no option. I haven't found any yet. I've tried 4keyboard, Amazon, Aliexpress and Bangood. I'd rather use transparent stickers to keep the backlight, since the stock keycaps are double shot ABS, so they have translucent letters.

2) Get double shot keycaps (as I said, I don't want to loose the ability to see the blacklight through the keys) printed with the US International layout. As far as I know, they don't exist, unless I order custom printed keys, which are very expensive.