Author Topic: TotalNoob?: Mousepointer Speed Questions,  (Read 7943 times)

Offline shogrran

TotalNoob?: Mousepointer Speed Questions,
« on: Sat, 12 November 2011, 14:56:46 »
Good day guys.

Another total noob question thread.

I just recently started posting in this forum since I got interested in peripherals and input devices. Admittedly I am new to this and know only of a few make and models.

Here is my third total noob question: I am working on windows7 as most of us still are and we all know that one of the Windows 7 control panel options is for the mouse and which lets you set "pointer speed". Mice nowadays have their own built in DPI which in itself affects how fast you can move the pointer across your screen. I have an SS.Sensei and an R.Salmosa myself which are very fast mice and I game at high DPI settings. (or C.P.I if some of you will argue)

For accuracy purposes and FPS games, which is better? Setting your Windows7 options to low and then setting the DPI/Settings to high on your mouse? Is it better to set the mouse options to middle (as default by windows) and then choosing your preferred dpi on the mouse? Or is it better to set the mouse on lowest dpi and then adjust the mouse options in the Windows7 control panel?

The Windows7 mouse options is it really speeding up the mouse? Or does it just skip pixels on your screen? Same question for the mouse settings for DPI, is it speeding up the mouse or does it just skip pixels?

To go more specific with the question... the SteelSeries Sensei's double CPI setting... is it comparable to a camera having hardware zoom and digital zoom? Hardware zoom being that the camera's lens can really adjust and focus and digital zoom being that the camera is just enlarging the pixels to produce a zooming effect?
« Last Edit: Sat, 12 November 2011, 15:25:06 by shogrran »
Razer Blackwidow Elite
CMStorm Quickfire Rapid
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Offline Foodmanchew

« Reply #1 on: Sat, 12 November 2011, 18:06:24 »