Author Topic: [IC] KP69 - A budget build, gasket mounted, 69% with knob  (Read 9874 times)

Offline JackPikatea

[IC] KP69 - A budget build, gasket mounted, 69% with knob
« on: Wed, 23 March 2022, 12:24:10 »
Hi everyone! I've got a new keyboard I've been working on for about 9 months now and would love to share and get some feedback.

Pikatea Keyboard KP69
A budget build, 3D printed, gasket mounted, 69% keyboard with a knob.

Discord
Instagram

I have spent about 9 months working on this project. It went from a thru-hole kit to an assembled PCB kit, a few different mounting styles and finally I've settled on something that I think works really well and is cost effective.

Obviously the 3D Printed case design is the highlight of this board. I wanted a unique shaped board and I chose 3D printing because, 1. We print a lot and are very good at it, and 2. It's really the only way to make a board with this design in a cost effective way.

This keyboard has a bunch of different layout options. I really like 60% which is how I typically assemble this board (60% plus 6 extra macro keys) but with a split right shift, you could setup the board like a traditional 65% and only 3 macro keys. We will also add support for adding blockers in the bottom row and around the encoder knob if desired. All this will be configured on the product page. This board has a plate mounted knob. If you aren't aware, I've been making these macropads for about 2 years now so plate mounted knobs are kinda my thing.

Speaking of cost, this is aimed to be budget friendly so a kit without switches, stabs and caps would run $120 USD and if desired switches and or stabs can be added on for a reasonable price. I'm also offering assembly services for this board so a kit that is fully assembled would run around $210 USD. Custom blockers outside what is popular (Win, Ctrl, Alt) will run an extra $10 USD