Author Topic: How's my theoretical layout  (Read 1771 times)

Offline AfroGundam

How's my theoretical layout
« on: Tue, 26 October 2021, 21:22:30 »
I'm relatively new to the keyboard hobby, but nevertheless I'm taking my first crack at making a new layout, and hopefully seeing this to production.

I like TKL, but I've always wanted something a bit more compact, even though it doesn't save that much space. 75% keebs also get on my nerves with the short right shift. I might be the only person in the world that hates it but it is what it is. I recently got a macropad with a rotary encoder and I've finally seen the light. Also nav cluster because reasons.

Top right area is reserved for the rotary encoder. Design wise I can see something resembling the Microsoft Surface Dial.

simple, lightly beveled edges

Already got comments on how some people dont like the nav cluster touching the 2x2 cluster so that might change.

Anyways, what do you guys think? Do I just go into blender and mock it up or what? Also, where do I go from here to actually hit IC?

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: How's my theoretical layout
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 27 October 2021, 04:16:34 »
I started on a board similar to this for cad.

My advice... Test whatever encoder you plan on using externally first.
I started testing parts and no sooner did I try using it I realized that I didn't like the encoder (in this case an encoder and then a trackball), it wasn't as useful or nice as I thought it would be and it would be even less useful being hard mounted to the keyboard. Later I built a board with an lcd, what I learned from it was integrating stuff into a keyboard is meh.