Author Topic: Need help checking my custom Alps plate  (Read 4087 times)

Offline nguyenhimself

Need help checking my custom Alps plate
« on: Tue, 12 March 2019, 05:48:30 »

Hi, so I’m planning to hand-wire my own Alps build, which of course requires that I cut my own plate.

And me being an amateur, I just export my layout into builder.swillkb.com and let it create a Poker-style 60% plate for me. So far, I’ve edited the dxf file just a bit here and there.

Can anyone more knowledgeable on Alps take a look at my plate and tell me if I need to change anything? Thank you so much.

My dxf file: https://www74.zippyshare.com/v/smPzPA0r/file.html

Offline Anakey

Re: Need help checking my custom Alps plate
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 13 March 2019, 09:04:22 »
Plate looks good to me, good luck with your build don't see many hand wired alps boards

Offline hasu

• @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 13 March 2019, 09:21:43 »
Dimensions of switch opening is wrong, it should be 15.5x12.8mm. Check this spec.
https://deskthority.net/w/images/3/32/Alps_Electric_--_spec_--_5454_31.pdf

Stabilizer dimensions look like not standard size for Alps stab. Though, it depends on stabs you are going to use. You will need to do caliper job on your stabs. And I think you want to check existent designs closely here.
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=82916.msg2201282#msg2201282

Offline nguyenhimself

Need help checking my custom Alps plate
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 13 March 2019, 11:50:22 »
Dimensions of switch opening is wrong, it should be 15.5x12.8mm. Check this spec.
https://deskthority.net/w/images/3/32/Alps_Electric_--_spec_--_5454_31.pdf

Stabilizer dimensions look like not standard size for Alps stab. Though, it depends on stabs you are going to use. You will need to do caliper job on your stabs. And I think you want to check existent designs closely here.
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=82916.msg2201282#msg2201282