Author Topic: A little help with soldering a custom cable  (Read 5385 times)

Offline ledriver

A little help with soldering a custom cable
« on: Sat, 30 April 2016, 05:45:21 »
Hey folks, longtime lurker first time poster. I'm trying to figure out how to make my own custom USB cables and could use some help as I'm a total electronics/soldering noob and have been trying to teach myself from YouTube tutorials over the last few weeks. I've put together a few cables so far, but none of them have worked (either no response when plugging them into my keyboard, or USB devices are disabled because 'the USB device is consuming too much power').

I think there is a problem with connecting the wires to the wrong pins, as my soldering looks OK (I've deconstructed a few working cables to compare).

Here are the parts I'm using:

Shielded 4 Wire USB cable wire (red, white, yellow, black wires)
ASSMANN WSW Type A USB Connector, Cable Mount Plug, 30 V, 1A
Hirose UX Series Cable Mount Version 2.0 Type B Mini USB Connector Plug, 5 V ac, 1A

In all the pinout diagrams I've found for these types of connectors, the USB cable wires are red, white, green (or blue) and black. I don't have a green wire in my cable - I have yellow instead. So far I've assumed the yellow wire I have is filling the same role as the green wire, but not sure how to verify. Does anybody know if this is correct?

I'm also not sure how I should solder the Hirose UX Mini USB connector. Most of the Mini USB pinout diagrams I've found are for a version with three soldering bays on the lower level, and then the white cable is soldered on one of the bays above. The connectors I have are different, with five very thin bays in a row. It's quite challenging to solder and I'm not sure which order to put the wires. If anyone can help me with which order to put the wires, that would be awesome.
My collection: Leopold FC660C + Vortex Pok3r with MX Blues

Offline invariance

• ...here with all the other boson's