Author Topic: Help with hot swap sockets  (Read 1357 times)

Offline bigern302

Help with hot swap sockets
« on: Fri, 12 June 2020, 05:30:08 »
Hello,

I bought a really well used stacked acrylic board with Kailh hot swap sockets.  The sockets are so loose that if you turn the board upside sown and jiggle, half a dozen switches fall right out.  The plate doesn't retain the switches at all.  Is it mental to just solder the switches into the sockets? (I don't care about hot swap, really) I'm pretty new to the hobby, but i'd rather not just dump a problem child on someone else.   Thanks in advance.

Offline lakeboredom

Re: Help with hot swap sockets
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 12 June 2020, 05:48:59 »
Hmm, if you use pcb mount switches they should stay in.

Offline bigern302

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 12 June 2020, 05:57:16 »
They do not.  I'd guess this board has been bought/sold/traded a dozen times, maybe? it's seen lots of switches. The bottom acrylic is BEAT.

Offline jbrandona119

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 12 June 2020, 07:58:42 »
If you want to solder them on I don't see why there would be an issue other than losing hotswap functionality...if anything you can solder one switch, test it and then do the rest of the board.

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
« Reply #4 on: Fri, 12 June 2020, 22:18:08 »
You have a few options.