Author Topic: Recommendations for keys for a Massdrop ALT  (Read 6215 times)

Offline TheProwess

Recommendations for keys for a Massdrop ALT
« on: Wed, 04 March 2020, 06:46:15 »
Hi! I'm new to the MK community (first time builder) and hoping you can help!

I started with a Massdrop ALT, 67g purple Zealios V2 switches, and Ducky Ultra Violet keycaps with some Tai-Hao accents (yes, I totally fell in love with Tfue's original board. I still don't know who he is. ;D)

https://imgur.com/a/3PehsRU

The problem is of course the lack of 1.75U right shift, and the wrong key profiles on the right-hand side.

I thought the best solution would be to find an additional set with the correct keys, and just replace all of the purple keys on the left and right-hand sides. Am I right in thinking they would have to be Cherry profile and the correct layout (like GMK) for this to work?

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Offline typo

Re: Recommendations for keys for a Massdrop ALT
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 04 March 2020, 20:57:31 »
I think Drop has sets for those. My board is a similar layout. What is wrong with the caps? I never tried those switches. I am interested. I like your kitty!

Actually the Tai Hao are very good. They are much thicker than most people think. Look at them or better yet use a caliper. Why didn't you like them? I would just keep those instead of waste more money.
« Last Edit: Fri, 06 March 2020, 00:54:14 by typo »

Offline TheProwess

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 09 March 2020, 11:19:10 »
Thanks! I checked out Drop and some of the GMK sets and I solved my own problem. I saw the GMK Apollo group buy, and well... I bought it.

So it looks like I'll have fully matching caps soon. ;D

You're right about the Tai-Haos being good! I really like them, so I will keep them (and the Duckys) for a future 60% board. Thanks!

Offline typo

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 10 March 2020, 09:26:31 »