Author Topic: [HELP] Trying to ISP program a board of mine using AVRdude.  (Read 5815 times)

Offline Traveler

[HELP] Trying to ISP program a board of mine using AVRdude.
« on: Wed, 14 March 2018, 14:41:33 »
Edit: Solved! Turns out the standard installation of avrdude doesn't include support for ArduinoISP out of the box. You need to add the lines listed below to your avrdude.conf file.

Code: [Select]
programmer
  id    = "arduinoisp";
  desc  = "Arduino ISP Programmer";
  type  = "usbtiny";
  connection_type = usb;
  usbvid     = 0x2341;
  usbpid     = 0x0049;
;

programmer
  id    = "arduinoisporg";
  desc  = "Arduino ISP Programmer";
  type  = "usbtiny";
  connection_type = usb;
  usbvid     = 0x2A03;
  usbpid     = 0x0049;
;

This is my first time starting a topic, so apologies for any mistakes I make

Alright, might want to grab yourself a drink. This will be a long post. I want to make sure that type down all of the info I've gathered.

So as the title states, I'm looking to do some ISP programming on a board of mine for the first time. It's a UK78 (AT90USB1286 chip) that I accidentally soft bricked by flashing a bad .hex. When I flashed said .hex I immediately got an "unknown device" notification on Windows and the board hasn't worked right since. The computer (usually) recognizes the board but the keys output nothing. The board will go into DFU mode but won't exit DFU mode. When I try to flash a new .hex I get the following:

Checking memory from 0x0 to 0x587F... Not blank at 0x1
(here is the full terminal window/steps I get in QMK Toolbox)

From what I've seen people have luck resolving this issue with ISP programming, so that's what I'm going for. I picked up this arduino ISP programmer, some wires, an IDC cable, and some pogo pins. I suck terribly at desoldering, so I'm trying to go for a solderless connection to my board. If I were to solder wires to the AVR connectors I would almost certainly destroy the PCB trying to get the wires out.