Author Topic: Is it worth the wait for group buy keycaps  (Read 5854 times)

Offline Mewdoozie

Is it worth the wait for group buy keycaps
« on: Mon, 02 November 2020, 13:37:24 »
Hey guys, I'm a little new to the mechanical keyboard scene and I've been looking to make a custom build. The thing is that all of the nice looking keycaps are group buys which as you all probably know, take around a year to be produced and delivered. There are some other keycaps that can be bought on sites like banggood or kbdfans with a low delievery time and are definitely cheaper but don't look quite as nice to me. I'm unsure of what to do. That's all, thanks.

Offline Darthbaggins

• PC Cannibal
Re: Is it worth the wait for group buy keycaps
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 02 November 2020, 14:18:06 »
The primary benefit to the GB's is the price compared to buying them from a reseller for a very much inflated price.  I have yet to jump in on a GB mainly due to the wait, but I do foresee myself jumping in on one in the near future as there are a ton of sets coming out I can wait to receive as the builds I am planning wont be ready till the sets are shipped.  In the end it's up to you whether or not its worth waiting on a higher quality set vs getting a cheap set to fill that want.

bkrownd:"Those damned rubber chiclet keys are the devil's nipples."   >:D

Offline kirejc

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 02 November 2020, 14:19:36 »
I am also new to the world of mechanical keyboards and have taken quite an interest in the custom GMK keycaps. I too was taken back by the process of how getting them works however I chose to get on board and enter my first group buy. I suppose all great things take time. I see it as something to look forward to. In the meantime I will browse classifieds and maybe pick up a set of keycaps on the second hand market to hold me over if I can find a reasonably priced set.

Offline jamster

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 02 November 2020, 20:36:26 »