Author Topic: Bamboo and metal Matias 5x2 macro pad [Now finished and photos posted]  (Read 3048 times)

Offline JohanAR

I'm planning to build a Nyquist and bought the electronics, but I haven't decided which switch to use and I've never done any laser cutting before so I thought I'd start with a practice project. For switches I'm leaning towards MX Silent Reds since I currently have Reds that I like but my wife thinks are too loud, however it would be fun to try out the Matias Linear so I ordered a handful of those (and some Matias Quiet Click because why not).

For design I'm using swillkb's tool and inkscape so I've been fighting with those two while reading up on different materials, kerf sizes and whatnot

The recommended switch plate thickness for Matias is 1.1 (+/- 0.1) mm which seems a bit thin for plastic so I went with a 1mm steel switch plate from Lasergist. It's quite thin even for metal but I'm not too worried about flex due to the small size of the kbd.

Ponoko offers $20 off your first order so I thought I'd try them for the sandwich layers. Put all the necessary parts (I hope I didn't miss any) on a P1 sheet which is recommended for bamboo. Opted for 6.7mm thickness so I'll only need one of each middle layer to get >12mm internal space, which ought to be enough for hand-wiring and an Arduino Pro Micro. 4 layers (bottom, open middle, closed middle and top frame) fit perfectly on a P1 but I needed to add an extra since I'm building two macro pads. With a 6.7mm bottom plate the box is going to be very tall but I think it will be ok since it's not for typing. I haven't figured out exactly how to attach everything together. From the beginning I was thinking about using a 20mm M2 screw through the whole thing but with the thick bottom and frame this won't be enough. Might have to drill out the middle layers to fit a spacer in there. Work and material ended up less than $20 but the shipping was $34 so it wasn't quite gratis