Author Topic: Looking for some nice keycaps.  (Read 6591 times)

Offline FerretBuster

Looking for some nice keycaps.
« on: Wed, 22 February 2012, 10:50:15 »
Hey guys, I have been using my filco with cherry browns for a few months now and I have to say I love it. However there is one difficulty, I bought some blank key caps and I keep running in to those odd occasions where you have to use an uncommonly used key and I just can't find it :/.

Although it's a minor inconvenience it would be nice to get some different caps, I have looked at the doubleshots but they look really expensive... Now I want to invest into some nice key caps that won't wear easily as I am a programmer (and therefore do a lot of typing). I haven't had these blanks long and I am already noticing quite a bit of shine on regularly used keys.

The keycaps need to be available in an ISO 105 key layout (the big enter key etc.)

I have a couple of different styles I am interested in, the first being the old school remix sort of style on wasdkeyboards, and also one similar to this http://tweakers.net/ext/f/l955eVgBYnQrgMJzqfeaHqs3/full.png

I guess I would be willing to invest in doubleshots if they last a really long time, but I would rather keep the costs down as much as possible. Also if anyone has any photos on the old school remix style keycaps from wasd or similar it would be awesome if you could post it :D

Thanks!

Offline dorkvader

• all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 22 February 2012, 17:31:55 »
Right.

First off: are your blanks ABS? If that's the case, then they should be showing wear. If you got PBT blanks (expensive) they woludn't wear that much.