Author Topic: How to reinstall switch stem and spring  (Read 1765 times)

Offline n707jt

How to reinstall switch stem and spring
« on: Thu, 21 May 2015, 09:59:51 »
Hi guys!

I am really new to the mechanical keyboard scene so I was hoping someone can help me out here.

I was trying to remove my ESC keycap when it seems that the entire switch stem and spring popped out together. I can't seem to find a way to install it back. I was wondering if anyone is able to guide me in installing the stem and spring so that my new ESC keycap can take its rightful place. I am using a Rosewill RK9000 V2.

Thanks so much!

Offline absyrd

• CPT HYPE PADAWAN
Re: How to reinstall switch stem and spring
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 21 May 2015, 10:04:21 »
Unfortunately that is a soldering job.
My wife I a also push her button . But now she have her button push by a different men. So I buy a keyboard a mechanicale, she a reliable like a Fiat.

Offline azhdar

• Praise the AZERTY god
  • 65% Enlightened
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 21 May 2015, 10:08:36 »
Like absyrd said you'll have to desolder the switch.

Reason: you can't pop the top part of the switch to access the inner parts in a stock keyboard and so put the switch back together.

ps: you're missing the white slider of your mx blue.
Azerty Propagandiste

Offline user 18

• * Senior Moderator
« Reply #3 on: Thu, 21 May 2015, 10:15:33 »
The white slider is still inside the switch housing. Pretty sure this means you need a new switch. And yes, you'll need to desolder the old one to get it out, or even get it apart enough to attempt repair.
Please PM me if you are waiting on classifieds approval or have a question about the classifieds rules. | geekhack Terms of Service

Max Nighthawk x8 (MX Brown) | CM QFR (MX Blue) | CM QFR (MX Clear) | RK-9000 (MX Red) | Model M 1391401 | Model M SSK 1370475 | CM Novatouch | G80-8113 (MX Clear) | 60% (85g MX Blue) | Whitefox Aria (MX Clear) | CL-LX (MX Clear) | Mira SE (MX Clear)

Offline Data