Author Topic: [IC] The Keycaps Archive  (Read 10075 times)

Offline bobdenard

[IC] The Keycaps Archive
« on: Tue, 02 July 2019, 05:03:23 »
Hi everyone!

I've been lurking in the back for a while now and I think it is time for me to become more involved and start giving back to this awesome community!
I'm a webdesigner and developer by trade so I came up with a few websites ideas and one of them seemed to stick.

I am thinking of building a keycap sets archive. For someone new, the sheer amount of existing sets, vendors, designers... can be daunting, and to have a place to gather everything would help I think. I looked but the only thing I could find was a couple of threads on GH listing some keysets but they were from a while ago. If there alredy is something in the pipeline let me know and I will kill my project.

Here are the features I am thinking about implementing:

- one page per keyset including: background info, designer, manufacturer, vendors, timeline, colors, kits, user pics, available sales numbers, maybe a user star rating...
- one page per designer
- one page per vendor
- a calendar view to quickly see what's in IC phase, what's in production, GB phase, incoming etc.

Being a Wordpress developer this will be my CMS of choice as it is solid and well known. I already starting building the platform.

This is an IC so every idea is welcome at this stage. Thanks for reading this and I hope you support this project!

BTW down the line I will need volunteers to help building the database and cross check everything, so let me know if interested.

Bob.

Offline qriousgabriel

• aka. gabrlyg
[IC] The Keycaps Archive
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 02 July 2019, 05:13:26 »
I really love the idea! I know there is a site by someone that archives all GMK and SA sets but some of them only have renders, it would be better if there are some photos. Also would be better if there is a project that can include other profiles.
HHKB | OTD DGE | FC660C | Realforce | Kaze