Author Topic: RS96 Build Questions(Could use some more advice please)  (Read 2793 times)

Offline Steezus

• Keeper of Facts
  • * Elevated Elder
RS96 Build Questions(Could use some more advice please)
« on: Tue, 11 August 2015, 14:11:38 »
I was happily given the opportunity to purchase an RS96 kit from another member, which I bought immediately. Now the only problem is that I've never built a keyboard before. I have experience in electronic components and especially in computers while I have some soldering experience in repairing electronics I mainly learned soldering from making copper drain systems during a summer HVAC job. Given that this is my first keyboard and that I'm a perfectionist I want this keyboard to be the best it can be. So my first question starts out with what parts do I need, currently in my cart is 100x cherry mx blues(PCB Mount) and 120x 67g springs, I know I need stabilizers but I don't know which ones I need. I'm not really sure what the benefits are lubricating the switches are so I am unsure whether I plan on doing this, same goes with switch stickers. Lastly I need a soldering station, after reading a decent amount of reviews I've learned that Weller is quite the reputable brand and that the preferred soldering station is the Weller WESD51 which is $133 currently on Amazon.com, now is this soldering station overkill for what I would be doing and would their be a cheaper/better alternative? Thanks for reading this long ass post :thumb:
« Last Edit: Wed, 12 August 2015, 20:05:59 by Steezus »
TGR-Jane CE | TGR-Tris CE | Lyn Montage | LZ PhysiX | Exclusive e8.5

Offline Spopepro

Re: RS96 Build Questions
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 11 August 2015, 14:40:22 »
Don't analyze this too much.  Your board will likely come out very nice, but you will be happiest in the long run if you suspend some of your perfectionist tendencies.  No one ends up with a "perfect" custom on the first time unfortunately.  But it will be very good!