Author Topic: [IC] Inverse65 - new(?) take on keyboard case assembly  (Read 3358 times)

Offline keywave

[IC] Inverse65 - new(?) take on keyboard case assembly
« on: Fri, 23 December 2022, 09:54:23 »
Hi all - been in the hobby for awhile now and have recently grown interested in trying to create a keyboard idea I have. I'm by no means a designer or engineer and just started messing around in fusion360 so the below images are pretty raw but would love any and all initial feedback on the general idea and design of the board. My plan is to at least have a prototype made for myself and if there's a lot of interest, potentially running a GB (although I know nothing around how to do that but learning is fun).

Idea: Inverse65: A 65% keyboard that is top mount but the entire top case slides down and into the bottom case. Running along the bottom of the top case are gaskets so that when the top case sits inside, it is resting on gaskets. My thinking here is you get the top mount style sound but potentially have a little give overall as the entire top case is resting on gaskets - kind of combing the two mounting styles (this may be pointless or not noticeable but will have to test that via prototype). I love the sound of a top mount, carbon fiber plate but that is obviously very stiff - if that could be sitting in a top case that was resting on gaskets, my thinking is you get the sound of the carbon fiber top mount but a little more flex to the typing feel. In addition, the top case sliding down creates a really unique looking top down profile as well as side profile. A lot of 65% keyboards today have a very standardized look with the only real variation coming from the bottom weight or back (neither of which you see while typing) - so my goal here was to create something unique looking as well. Let me know what you think! Thanks!