Author Topic: New to mechanical keyboards  (Read 1830 times)

Offline br4n_d0n

New to mechanical keyboards
« on: Wed, 10 February 2016, 22:35:19 »
Hello, I'm new to mechanical keyboards, was looking to build my own keyboard, and try to program it. I figured if I was going to do this, I might as well do it right and go crazy. I started off by getting a switch tester (WASD 6 Cherry MX switches) and I've been looking to try out the Gateron versions because I want to know what else is out there. I kind of like the Cherry MX Reds, but wanted to try something between a Cherry MX Black and a Red, which looks like a Gateron Yellow or Black. Though, it's kind of all up in the air at the moment because it's hard to get a feel for the switch with only having 1 of each. So, I'm looking to get at least a minimum of 4 switches of the Gaterons, but I'm finding it hard to find a place that sells small amounts for a really good price (guess I'm being cheap  :-[). It would be nice to try out all of the Gateron versions, but they may be a waste if I'm not a big fan of the heavy variants (seems like they will tire out the fingers).

Offline katushkin

• Too Keycool for School
  • * Elevated Elder
  • Just the guy
Re: New to mechanical keyboards
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 10 February 2016, 23:35:33 »
From what I gather, a lot of people like Gateron Blacks. I am not a fan of linear switches myself, but there are plenty of people who are. If you want to start out by building a board, that's a pretty sizeable commitment!

I think there are usually a lot of boards on Massdrop that have Gaterons, I've not bought one from there in a while, but if you really wanted to try out a switch with more than one switch, you could try getting a cheap one of those. Or ask in the free stuff thread in the classifieds :)

Oh, and welcome to Geekhack"
Can we get them to build the Alps ten feet higher and get Cherry to pay for it?
Katushkin's Clearout | Twitter | Steam | Instagram| Discord - katushkin