Author Topic: Beginner Lubing Issues...  (Read 3344 times)

Offline CurrentlyWatchingFishTank

Beginner Lubing Issues...
« on: Fri, 28 April 2023, 18:47:57 »
I apologize in advance for being a noob and asking stupid questions, but I'm really stuck.

I'm not new to mechanical keyboards, but I am new to even the most basic modding.

I have an IQUNIX L80 that I've just started to mod. I put some Holy Panda switches that I'm really happy with so i figured the next logical step would be lubing them. I've watched tons of videos about lubing switches and yesterday lubed one switch to start. 3203 lube.

Well, now the switch doesn't work at all. I put another unlubed switch and it works fine. So I tried with another extra switch, being very careful to only lightly lube it. No visible white from over lubing, not even close. Reassembly was smoother the second time around, put it on the board and... nothing, doesn't work.
What on earth could I possibly be doing wrong here? I've checked the pins, they're fine. I can barely even find people saying their switches stopped working after lubing, I feel like i'm completely missing something.

Any help is much appreciated.

Offline jcoffin1981

Re: Beginner Lubing Issues...
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 28 April 2023, 23:00:04 »
If a replacement switch works but the lubed switch does not, then the error is either in the placement of the switch or the assembly.  I don't really think it's possible to overlube a switch and have it not work.  Even if the lube is non-conductive then there should still be enough tension for the switch to still make contact.  I would try to disassemble a switch, then reassemble it without lubing, replace it in the socket and see if it works.  Then try with a small amount of lube. 

I have never used Holy Pandas before.  I would also watch a few videos on lubing and disassembling them.