Author Topic: Ducky Shine 4 Review  (Read 43095 times)

Offline aasi

Ducky Shine 4 Review
« on: Sun, 28 December 2014, 12:27:50 »
Chinese Version Review
As usual, the annual Keyboard Party 2014 took place in December. I was extremely fortunate to get Ducky Shine 4, Horse Year Edition from the prize drawing! After a week of intensive use, here’s an unboxing and review for the product. Excuse my grammatical errors as English's not my first language~

Besides the Ducky Shine 4, I’ve had 7 other mechanical keyboards. A lot of what’s in this review is heavily toward my own bias, so please bear that in mind. Since this is my first time attempting to write a review, let me know if you have any suggestions, thanks!

Manual

Sturdy packaging is to be expected from Ducky, so here it is. The content includes a keycap puller, replaceable WASD keycaps, mini USB cable, warranty card, and of course the keyboard itself. The specs are model DKSH1408SD, Cherry blue switch, black laser printed ABS keycap English ver., dual LED Blue Red backlight, and weighs 1200g.

Top case is well designed, the hairline finish make its plastic material look sleek without the icy feel when typing on an aluminum case.

Extending from the top case, ingeniously designed “feet” clearly bear resemblance of horse’s hoofs, staying true to the theme of Shine 4. Triangular shaped hollows on the side not only look good, but also make adjusting keyboard position much easier when typing.

Compare to standard ones, removable feet shown in the image above feels way more long lasting and sturdy. Ducky has come a long way since the previous models, props!

Shine 4 uses mini USB cable, fixed to only exit through the middle. Despite its design might suggest, it actually doesn’t hold the cable well.