Author Topic: Choice of silent keyboard - HHKB, Realforce  (Read 3431 times)

Offline yossarian_52

Choice of silent keyboard - HHKB, Realforce
« on: Sun, 04 December 2016, 13:03:59 »
Hello everyone,

after browsing the forums as well as youtube, I have made a shortlists that would match my criteria and as I am new to this topic wanted to ask for a little help on the choice.

I currently have a MX browns Filco, but it's slightly too loud for me (well, not just me) and I'd prefer a shorter board without the numpad. I really like the feel of a mech keyboard though, so instead of settling for membrane I started looking for an alternative. I came up with 2 ideas, which seem to get the best opinions - HHKB Type-S and Realforce Silenced.

On a daily basis I typically tend to type as well as use excel extensively (use arrows, page up, page down, home, end, f2 quite a lot).
I have seen there's a separate thread on usage of HHKB, conclusion being all comes down to personal preference. I think I could take a risk with HHKB, but Realforce seems like a more logical solution. My concern is the availability - I would be looking at the ten keyless and it's not available in elitekeyboards or the keyboard co. Any advice on where to shop for this? I am from the EU.

Also, is there a Realforce silenced with uniform weighting or just the variable?

Thanks for all the feedback

JJ

Offline Giorgio

Re: Choice of silent keyboard - HHKB, Realforce
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 04 December 2016, 13:06:47 »
Pcb mounted keyboards with gmk uniqey clips are the most silent keyboards ever.

Cherry has announced that it will sell some keyboards with silent switches, for example the g80-3000.

Offline Tactile

« Reply #2 on: Sun, 04 December 2016, 13:10:40 »
Those are both good choices but you also might consider a Leopold. They put some kind of sound dampening material inside the case which doesn't make them silent but does give them a mellow and quite pleasant sound.
REΛLFORCE

Offline moh18one