Author Topic: first build, need some feedback ...  (Read 1186 times)

Offline sero

first build, need some feedback ...
« on: Wed, 09 May 2018, 14:51:20 »
Hi everyone, I'm new here. I'm using a "new poker 2" with browns.

I got a good deal on a used blackwidow with blues, took the case apart, and figured all the cherry mx switches are good, the metal plate is bent but probably fixable, the keycaps are usable and probably that's it.

What would be the shortest path for a first time builder to end up with a new(ish) keyboard out of this? I'm thinking 60-75% layout.

The first step would be to desolder the switches, obviously. That means a solder sucker + solder station, I don't have access to fancy desoldering equipment. I'm no expert, but cutting the pcb to size and then figuring out a way to make the circuit think it was still whole, kind of complicated, unless I do some fancy bending and it looks close to impossible from where I'm standing.

I could cut the metal plate and reuse that, but I probably wouldn't find a pcb to fit the exact switch placements. I am considering soldering without a pcb (a future build might be a custom ergodox-style build, with my own finger placement as a template). I've watched a few people manually soldering switches with wire, with no pcb, seems like a lot of work.

I could ditch the plate entirely and just get a pcb+plate and go from there.

The controller reads: "raz-031/031" + some serial number, it's a 2013 model, made in 2012, not sure I can reuse that.

An additional project will be making a touchpad-like device from spare parts (old smartphone screen/laptop touchpads) to use next to my 60%.

Any guidance for a first time builder (I have some minimal experience soldering things, but no actual tools). My first step would be getting some basic desoldering tools.

Thank you!
« Last Edit: Wed, 09 May 2018, 15:00:28 by sero »

Offline Kavik

Re: first build, need some feedback ...
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 09 May 2018, 15:35:00 »