geekhack Marketplace > Bingecap Archive

Lets talk shop~

(1/9) > >>

Binge:
I've gotten a lot of questions regarding equipment and how best to start out going into production.  This thread is going to be the spot I direct people to discuss casting equipment and resources.

Please understand that some aspects of this craft are dangerous, and no information provided in this thread is meant to assure safety.  Proceed at your own risk.  That being said I don't want to see anyone hurt and suggestions herein will be moderated to the best of my knowledge.  I am by no means a professional or expert when it comes to safety with these chemicals/machines and one should always refer to manufacturer technical and safety sheets before exploring the limits of their materials.

redbanshee:
From the Capcraft Hub:

--- Quote from: Binge on Thu, 23 April 2015, 10:41:50 ---
--- Quote from: redbanshee on Thu, 23 April 2015, 10:30:25 ---
--- Quote from: Binge on Wed, 22 April 2015, 18:35:56 ---
--- Quote from: redbanshee on Wed, 22 April 2015, 12:42:01 ---Binge, thank you for creating this inspirational and extremely helpful thread! I have taken the plunge and started casting keycaps and used materials recommended by you with great(ish) results. You have great suggestions, and the pics you post are great! Especially helpful for me are the silicone mold pics.

Now, I am ready to take the next step and I was wondering, in your opinion, what is more important piece of equipment, a Vacuum degassing chamber, or a Pressure Pot? I plan to get both eventually but I was wondering your opinion on which one helps the most with eliminating bubbles?

--- End quote ---

Both are used for different purposes.  Casting under pressure reduces formation of extra gasses in the mold and vacuum degassing removes existing gasses from the mix.  Consider how each of those techniques align with your goals and choose what works for you.