Author Topic: bueller's Budget Keycap Photography Guide  (Read 1632 times)

Offline bueller

• MX baller
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Church of the Ergo Clear
bueller's Budget Keycap Photography Guide
« on: Fri, 20 June 2014, 02:01:49 »
After a long time browsing this forum I've come across a lot of awesome stuff and the one thing I always think is, "God damn I wish some of these pictures were better". After just over a year being here I figure it's finally time I post a quick guide on how to get the best results out of even the ****tiest of cameras. I was a gig photographer for years so I've spent a lot of time trying to get photos with ****ty equipment in horrible lighting conditions  :p

Rule #1 - No photos inside!

Unless you live on the surface of the sun, have a good window sill or a really good camera you're going to struggle to get a decent shot inside. While you may be able to get a photo with sharp focus your camera will dial up the sensitivity which results in a pretty grainy shot most of the time. Best results can be attained if you take the items outside and set them up on a backdrop of some sort (I like to use a wooden chopping block). I usually set up in the shade regardless of weather, even in winter I can get enough light during the day but then again winters aren't super extreme here in Australia.

Rule #2 - Choose a backdrop that is neutral to the overall color scheme of the board.

What this means is you should be choosing something that will allow the camera to focus and nail exposure easier. If you've got a black board with black caps, don't shoot it on a white background and vice/versa. Smaller cameras and phones only have tiny little sensors so the dynamic range isn't up to snuff for shooting a black board on a white backdrop without making nailing exposure difficult. This is another reason why I like to shoot on a chopping block, the wood grain is a nice neutral zone for just about any keysets I drop on it.