Author Topic: Filco Minila Review  (Read 3965 times)

Offline CaptainAwesome

Filco Minila Review
« on: Fri, 02 May 2014, 07:45:19 »
this is my first review of something, I'm no pro, but I feel that other reviews have missed out on some of what I wanted to see in their reviews so.. here I go....

This is the Filco Minila

As you probably know, it's a small form factor keyboard, with cherry MX switches. As a result, these WILL fit cherry mx keycaps without any uneven heights, but I will come back to this part later.

as you can see above, Filco have removed a lot of the TKL functionality and put them in function keys, which is nice if you don't find yourself using too much, but personally I find myself using home / end / page up / down a lot so the extra keypress does bother you at first, but you can grow into it. Sadly, this is ONE of the reasons you won't want to customise your board unless you are using custom keys from WASD. Again, I will come back to customisation later.

In the past, I have bought from KBT, KBC and finally Filco, I found the KBT/C exposed the underlay between the keycaps too much, something I would prefer hidden and out of sight, thankfully the filco does this really well, much like the other variations

if you are looking directly at it, with light, you'll see the black plastic, which I find aesthetically pleasing, I purchased a white Race before and put black keys on it, but I could always see underneath which made it look bad. You don't have to worry about that here.

The addition of a USB socket at the back is nice, it's not particularly useful as you will still have wires on your table, in fact the loose could be more of an annoyance but if you are short on sockets, this will help you (you can always raise the keyboard legs and tuck them under)