Author Topic: Now I understand the obsession.  (Read 2223 times)

Offline Lunatique

• Writer, Composer, Artist, Photographer, Gamer
Now I understand the obsession.
« on: Sat, 06 December 2014, 00:31:10 »
I'm an artist, writer, composer, photographer, director, and I'm new to mechanical keyboards. My most important usage of keyboards is for writing novels (I can touch-type and have been doing it since the mid-80's), as well as typical online stuff like blog, forums, and email. I do play games, but not nearly as much as I once did when I was younger (mainly FPS, RPG, and 3rd person action/adventure/horror).

I've only just very recently started to look into mechanical keyboards. I was at Fry's last week looking for a new keyboard, and when I typed on the higher-end gaming keyboards they had on display, I was blown away by how responsive they felt compared to all the keyboards I've ever used (they were blue Cherry MX switches).  I went home and started researching, and pretty soon, I found myself falling down the rabbit hole. I read up on everything I could find via google, watched a bunch of Youtube videos, read forum discussions, etc, and then started obsessing over what I want to try, in what configuration, how I want to customize...etc.

I had known vaguely about mechanical keyboards since I visit Massdrop a lot, so I see a lot of group buys for keycaps and mechanical keyboards. At the time I didn't understand what the hoopla was all about--all seemed oddly obsessive to me (but I totally understand, since I'm part of the head-fi community, photography/camera community, as well as pro audio community, so I "get" the mentality). Anyway, now I totally understand what all those Massdrop group buys means in the context of this obsession.